About Brunei

Brunei is a small sultanate along the northern coast of the island of Borneo, bordering the South China Sea and Malaysia. Brunei consists of two non-contiguous parts divided by a portion of the Malaysian state of Sarawak. The country shares maritime borders with China and Malaysia. With an area of just 5,765 km² and a population of just over 417,000 people, it consists of a tightly knit conservative community. The capital of Brunei is Bandar Seri Begawan. The Spoken languages are Bahasa Melayu (the official language), English, and Chinese.

Brunei is mainly accessible by air, although it can be accessed by land or sea through the neighbouring Malaysian States

The culture of Brunei is predominantly Malay (reflecting its ethnicity), with heavy influences from Islam, but is seen as much more conservative than Indonesia and Malaysia Brunei’s official main language is Malay but English is also widely spoken as it is a compulsory subject in the majority of the schools. As a Sharia country, the sale and public consumption of alcohol is banned. Non-Muslims are allowed to bring in a limited amount of alcohol from their point of embarkation overseas for their own private consumption.


Furthet details about Brunei can be obtained at